Munster Even Age Cross Country Championships 23-Oct-2016

Post date: Oct 24, 2016 2:52:55 PM

The munster evenage xc was held in Carrignavar on Sunday 23rd October . With good underfoot conditions and a relatively flat course, it was only the strong winds that made it difficult for the athletes.

Taylor Aherne led the U10 Youghal girls to finish a super 31st overall. She was followed by Autumn Devereaux 69th, Clodagh Fitzgerald 102nd and Ella Finn 104th.

Our U10 boys were led home by Aidan McNamee 46th. Followed by Paddy Nicholson 96th , Jimmy Nicholson 138th and Ryan Tutty 146th.

Avril Millerick finished a fantastic 3rd in the U12 girls 2000m race . She was closely followed by Sorcha Kilgannon in 4th, both girls getting individual Munster medals. Alex Cashman was next home in 13th position , completing scoring for the Cork team which took gold. Poppy Devereaux had a super run to finish 31st followed by Eireann Barrett 57th , Rachel Murray 59th and Ruby Kennedy. This super team won the Munster club title.

The U12 boys were up next with Ben Walsh leading the team home in 47th position. Charlie O Neill was next home in 86th followed by Jude Buckley 96th and Ronin Joyce 142nd.

Avril Cashman and Emma Landers put in super performances in the U14 girls race to come 5th and 7th respectively. Both girls receiving individual Munster medals and Cork gold team medals. Eva Murphy had a great run also to finish 20th , closely followed by Erin Joyce 23rd and Robyn Buckley 37th. Super running by all these girls who were running up an age. Caoimhe McMahon 50th completed the team who won club team gold medals. Hannah Fitzgerald had to retire due to injury.

Ciaran McNamee was the only Youghal competitor in the U14 boys race and he didn't disappoint , finishing 7th overall. He obtained an individual Munster medal and was 1st scorer for the Cork team which won silver county medals.

Lucy O Keeffe led the Youghal U16 girls home to finish a super 6th overall, winning an individual Munster medal . She was also first scorer for Cork who won bronze. Lesley Cashman was next home in 26th position followed by Kerry Barrett 57th and Molly O Neill 70th. Great running by the girls who came an unlucky 4th in the club team competition but qualified for the All Ireland XC.

Jake McCarthy had an outstanding performance in the U16 boys race . He battled hard throughout the 4000m race but out sprinted his rival in the final straight to take the Munster title. He also led the Cork team home and got a silver county medal. Dylan Lucey was next home in 49th position , closely followed by Darragh Buckley 53rd and Cian Nicholson 56th.

Aine O Regan had a great run in the U18 girls race to finish 38th overall.

Simon Upton led the Youghal boys home in the U18 boys race, finishing 21st overall. Killian Nolan was next home in 28th position followed by Eoin O Brien 37th and Tiarnan McCarthy 39th. The team finished just outside the medal positions in 4th but qualified for the National XC.

Well done to all who competed and congratulations and such superb performances.

More photos available at